Using Original Estimate costs and Revised Costs will help you manage the initially estimated numbers and the numbers added after the Estimate has been approved - internally or externally.

Each Estimate can be approved in one of two ways:

  • Internally (approved by an internal user)

  • Externally (approved by the client)

Once an Estimate has been released to the client or approved, the Original Estimate costs will be locked (unable to be edited) for job costing purposes. Any edits that need to be made after the Estimate has been approved can be made using the Revised Costs tab. Once released, an Estimate can be unlocked by un-releasing it. This will allow edits to be made to the Original Estimate costs.

Estimates can be locked manually without approval as well.

Again, once an Estimate has been locked, making edits to the Original Estimate costs will not be possible. However, your Revised Costs can be edited. Within the Budget, you can easily compare your Original Estimate costs with your Revised Costs.

When Invoicing from the Estimate, the Original Estimate tab provides that functionality. This is where customer pricing information is located.


Interested in Learning More? 📚

The Buildertrend Learning Academy is your one-stop-shop for your online education, whether you're new to Buildertrend or an experienced user looking to learn more.

If you have any questions or require additional support, feel free to chat with us, send an email: support@buildertrend.com, or give us a call at 1-888-415-7149. We’re always happy to help.

Did this answer your question?