Setting up default settings and permissions for how you would like the Time Clock feature to work is important and will ultimately create a better experience. Only administrators on your account will be able to update these settings.
Time clock Settings can be accessed within Setup.
Locate the Time Clock tab.
From here, you can establish the start of your work week. The selected start day will apply to all employees.
You have the option to toggle to track hourly rates by employee or by cost code. By Cost Code is helpful if you pay employees a different rate based on the type of task or activity they are performing. If your employees each make a unique hourly rate, select the option to track By User.
You can toggle to show time totals with hours and minutes, or you can turn this format off in order to display time in a decimal format.
HH:MM = 25:45
Decimal = 25.75
The break option allows you to establish a maximum amount of time before breaks are automatically ended if enabled. This option ensures that any user that forgets to end their break will not cause extra work to adjust the shift at the office. If this setting is enabled, the End Break button will not be displayed, and the user will not be able to manually end their break. The break will automatically end after the set break length expires. The break will end if the user clocks out while on break.
If you anticipate deleting jobs that have recorded hours, turning this option on will ensure your employee time cards are not deleted with the job.
Occasionally, employees will forget to clock out. This option will remind them that they forgot to clock out.
Overtime can be applied to a time card, and you have the option to auto calculate the overtime based on your standards. You are given the option to calculate overtime daily and/or weekly.
If certain days of the week are automatically considered overtime, you have the option to designate these days of the week for all employees.
If you offer double overtime, you can prescribe these settings by day and/or week.
You will also set your Geofencing preferences here as well.
In order for a user to have access to use the Time Clock feature, their permissions must include access to the feature. Permissions can be viewed within each internal user's profile.
To access and change internal user permissions, you will need to be an administrator.
At minimum, to allow an internal user to clock in and out, they must have View and Add access. You do have the option to allow an internal user to edit shifts. This can be granted by turning on the Edit option.
Advanced permissions are classified as Detailed Permissions. These are typically reserved for managers and admins who need to view and adjust other internal user time cards.
View Other User Time Sheets: This permission should typically be given to all admins. However, you can apply this permission to site supervisors who need the ability to confirm other employees have properly clocked in and out without giving them the ability to manipulate other users' time cards. To use this detailed permission, you must have View turned on.
Adjust Other User Time Sheets: This detailed permission should be given to all admins who need to make amendments to other users' time sheets. To do so, the user must have View Other User Time Sheets turned on, as well as have View, Add and Edit applied.
Review and Approve User Shifts: This permission should be granted to users who sign off on other users' time cards. The user must have View, Add and Edit turned on to use the review and approve functionality.
For comprehensive online learning, please visit the Buildertrend Learning Academy.
If you have any questions or require additional support, feel free to chat with us, send an email: email@example.com, or give us a call at 1-888-415-7149. We’re always happy to help.